Melvin Galapon's Blog

Oxfam

Posted in Advertising, Commission, Illustration by Melvin Galapon on February 24, 2010


Here’s one of 2 illustrations I did with Young & Rubicam before Christmas as part of a small campaign for Oxfam to help bring awareness to climate change. This was somewhat of a new direction for my work as drawing curves was something I steered well clear of due to my obssession with grids and keeping everything angular. It was also quite a challenge as with both of the faces I created I had to get the correct balance of each looking like the maps they were referencing as well as being recognisable as faces. After breaking through to the other side and having looked at numerous graphical styles of weather maps I think I managed to get the right balance. I enjoyed working on this so much that I’ve also started to bring elements of this new working technique into some of the new stuff I’m currently working on.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mr a hayes said, on February 24, 2010 at 11:38 am

    This looks ace mate

  2. Lyds said, on April 7, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    MAJOR SEX MELV! awesomex


Leave a Reply

